Message from the Chair – January 2021

Winter is here and we started 2021 with a corona virus pandemic and many of us working remotely. I hope all of you are safe and look forward to when we can say the pandemic is behind us and return to some semblance of a normal life.

We have a busy year planned for 2021 with active participation and outreach at the following conferences. First up, is the annual ANS meeting on June 13-17, 2021 in Providence, Rhode Island where DESD will host 2-3 sessions. The meeting is planned to be a combination of in person and virtual. Downtown Providence has a lively tourist district and is only an hour away from places like Boston, Newport, RI and Mystic, CT.

The next conference is the ANS Utility Working Conference on August 8-11, 2021 at Marco Island, Florida where DESD will host 7 sessions. We have had great participation from the division members in the past and the beaches are nearby. So, plan to attend.

The ANS Winter Meeting is in Washington, DC from October 31 to November 4, 2021. We are pleased to announce that DESD will hold an embedded topical meeting with the Robotics and Remote Systems Division at the 2021 ANS Winter Meeting. We need at least 72 papers for this topical so your help is needed to stimulate papers, perform technical reviews, and chair sessions. Please pitch in and help Jim Byrne make this our best meeting year yet. The link to the topical is found at:

Call for Papers for the Embedded Topical <a href="https://www.ans.org/meetings/file/view-1027/">https://www.ans.org/meetings/file/view-1027/</a>

Some important dates for the topical are:

IMPORTANT DUE DATES (No Abstract Submission is Needed) Draft Full-Length Paper Submission: Monday, July 5, 2021

Review Notification: Monday, August 2, 2021

Final Papers: Monday, August 23, 2021

The organizers for this topical are:

General Chair - Jim Byrne

Technical Program Chairs – Sue Aggarwal (Decommissioning), Nadia Glucksberg (Environmental Science), Leo Lagos (Robotics and Remote Systems)

Publication Chairs – Jay Parks (DESD), Young Soo Park (RRSD)

**Technical Program Committee Members:** 

Larry Boing Frazier Bronson

Mark Campagna Joe Carignan

Gene Carpenter Michael Dalmaso

Noah Fetherston Genia McKinley

Jean Pabon Leah Parks

Jean Plummer Marty Plys

Mike Serrato Rich St. Onge

Young Soo Park Gerry Van Noordennen

If you haven't visited the DESD website lately, please take a look. It has been updated and improved and will continue to work with ANS HQ to keep it current. Go to desd.ans.org to get to the website.

Finally, I want to thank Jim Byrne for the tremendous effort as the DESD Program Chair. Jim is ready to pass the position to another member, so please let us know if you are interested. The DESD officers and committee members will provide plenty of help to continue with a successful and active DESD program at the ANS conferences.

I look forward to working with all of you and if you have any suggestions or ideas as to how we can improve our division please don't hesitate to contact me at <a href="mailto:gpvannoordennen@energysolutions.com">gpvannoordennen@energysolutions.com</a>.

Best Regards,

## Gerry van Noordennen

DESD Chair, 2020-2021